Public Safety


The town of Agawam has three primary departments of public safety. They are: the Agawam Fire Department, Agawam Police Department and the Agawam Office of Emergency Management.


The mission of the departments of public safety is to provide the highest level of life, property and disaster relief services. We strive to provide these services with the highest professional standards to all persons who have entrusted us with their safety and well-being.


We dedicate ourselves in being an integral part of the community in which we serve through open communications with the citizens of Agawam.


The Agawam departments of public safety continues to employ and train highly motivated and skilled personnel who are of unquestionable moral character and preserve the highest ethical standards with an unyielding dedication to service.
  1. Animal Control

    Learn about lost and found dogs, dog licenses, and dead animals.

  2. Emergency Management

    Agawam Emergency Management (AEM) consists of a Director, Deputy Director and a staff of dedicated volunteers.

  3. Fire Department

    The mission of the Agawam Fire Department is to protect the lives and property of the citizens of Agawam from fires, natural and man made disasters, and hazardous material incidents; to save lives by providing advanced life support medical services; to prevent fires through prevention, education, and intervention programs; and to provide a work environment that values cultural diversity and is free of harassment and discrimination.

  4. Police Department

    The Police Department has the responsibility through its program and personnel to provide emergency services for all persons residing and visiting the community.